School Phobia - 13 yrs. old.

wolf

Full time employment: Posting here.
Not sure if this is the right area. Anyone out there have any experience with School Phobia. Anyone know of anyone who has had success?

Been dealing with this situation for a year now. Very difficult.

Working with Therapists, Psychiatrists, parent advocate, School people, etc.

Seems no one really knows what to do.

:mad:

I'm not an expert by any means, but as an alternative education teacher for over 20 years I've had quite a few students that have been labelled with school phobia. While it can be a catch-all for a lot of behaviors, it is in some cases a serious emotional/psychological condition.

I can only say that my program, Independent Studies, where we work one-on-one with students has had pretty good success in helping students make progress in school, but I don't know what kind of long term affects we might have facilitated. Some kids will attend Ind. St. once they feel comfortable with the structure. But others won't participate, some even pretend to walk into the class and run out another way in order to try and fake us and the parents out. I fully understand that it is a very serious, tough problem. I feel really worried about some of the kids after they leave me.

Do you know what the trigger was? Fear of getting hurt, fear of disappointing (school performance), etc...

When it comes to phobias of all types, I know that some people have had some success with cognitive behavioral therapy (exposure therapy) and some with hypnosis. It basically involves retraining the brain.

Thanks for the inputs:

A few more details. Daughter enjoys school. Grades are good. Has friends. Is not shy. Tomboy. Adopted. Loves animals.

School Phobia, started end of 6th grade.

From what we can tell, it seems my daughter is a perfectionist, procrastinator. She worries about not understanding everything in class.