Thinking of building a pool...what are the pro's and con's?

Here, people are encouraged to sign up the kids for swimming lessons. They can teach kids as young as 3.

Just a couple of years ago a young kid got killed by a gator at Disney. There are news stories every year about kids getting bitten (at best) during the summer rainy season when the gators move into the drainage ditches near houses, places where there's usually no water but the rains bring enough for the gators to move in. It's the wild, wild south down there.

Basically any waterway in FLA which is not the ocean, one should expect there can be gators in there.

Friend in FL had to be very careful to keep his dog in an fenced enclosure by the house. The gators were known to snatch dogs from waters edge and that is that, as they say. Kids are also advised in some areas to avoid certain waterways but I have no personal experience so YMMV.
There was a video posted a while back on the internet which a gator climbed a fence. I can believe it. The only gators I've encountered are by the waters edge while playing golf. Don't go near the water to retrieve your ball.

Just a couple of years ago a young kid got killed by a gator at Disney. There are news stories every year about kids getting bitten (at best) during the summer rainy season when the gators move into the drainage ditches near houses, places where there's usually no water but the rains bring enough for the gators to move in. It's the wild, wild south down there.
During the 3 major hurricanes that wrecked FL in 2004, the snakes and gators were displaced and some were walking and crawling in the streets some near down live power lines.

I think you just build the pool fence into the design. In our last house we had a glass fence, because we didn’t want to ruin the view. There are ways to do it. No pool fence and young kids is a recipe for disaster imo. Just not worth it. We wouldn’t even move in to our current house until the fence was in.