Join Early Retirement Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Available graphs, info on brokerages
Old 09-01-2020, 11:06 AM   #1
Give me a museum and I'll fill it. (Picasso)
Give me a forum ...
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 15,611
Available graphs, info on brokerages

OK, I have been wanting to move some of my money out of Vanguard and was looking for the best place to move... it seems that FIDO is winning...


BUT, I cannot find anywhere that they show me the graphs etc. that Vanguard shows... in the personal performance section FYI.



I can see what my gains/losses were in total or by month for 10 years, 5, 3 etc...


I can see my balances on a graph for the same (FIDO seems to have this but not that well IMO)


Am I missing where it is or do they not have anything like this?
Texas Proud is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 Early Retirement and Financial Independence Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

Are you planning to be financially independent as early as possible so you can live life on your own terms? Discuss successful investing strategies, asset allocation models, tax strategies and other related topics in our online forum community. Our members range from young folks just starting their journey to financial independence, military retirees and even multimillionaires. No matter where you fit in you'll find that Early-Retirement.org is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with our members, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create a retirement blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 09-01-2020, 11:16 AM   #2
Give me a museum and I'll fill it. (Picasso)
Give me a forum ...
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 15,611
Just looked at my Merrill Edge and they have a nice graph function showing gains etc.
Texas Proud is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2020, 01:52 PM   #3
Give me a museum and I'll fill it. (Picasso)
Give me a forum ...
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Laurel, MD
Posts: 5,814
Fidoís website is light years ahead of VG, but VG displays a simple graph of account performance going back 10 yrs and I canít find anything comparable at FIDO no matter how many levels I drill down. We had a thread here that revealed some additional performance metrics were available on the account features tab if you had $XXX with them. I do get something similar on the net benefits workplace savings pages.
__________________
...with no reasonable expectation for ER, I'm just here auditing the AP class.Retired 8/1/15.
jazz4cash is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2020, 02:33 PM   #4
Recycles dryer sheets
 
Join Date: Jul 2020
Location: Sector 001 - Alpha Quadrant
Posts: 113
Schwab gives me access to Vanguard Funds (including index admiral shares) without paying their usual transaction fee. You do have to ask for this promo and have a certain asset level. And IMHO, nobody has a better website than Schwab
Ncc1701 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2020, 05:30 PM   #5
Give me a museum and I'll fill it. (Picasso)
Give me a forum ...
pb4uski's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Sarasota, FL & Vermont
Posts: 29,138
Quote:
Originally Posted by jazz4cash View Post
Fidoís website is light years ahead of VG...
I dunno... I have both... Vanguard forever and Fido for about 20 months... and I don't get it.

I'm not even sure if Fido's website is better... perhaps a tad but certainly not light years.
__________________
If something cannot endure laughter.... it cannot endure.
Patience is the art of concealing your impatience.
Slow and steady wins the race.

Retired Jan 2012 at age 56...target 65/35/0 AA TBD
pb4uski is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2020, 07:39 PM   #6
Give me a museum and I'll fill it. (Picasso)
Give me a forum ...
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 15,611
Quote:
Originally Posted by pb4uski View Post
I dunno... I have both... Vanguard forever and Fido for about 20 months... and I don't get it.

I'm not even sure if Fido's website is better... perhaps a tad but certainly not light years.

I kinda agree... not light years... and FIDO has restricted me from buying some preferred shares...


BUT, Vanguard just does not seem to care about keeping my basis info on my IRAs correct... I have even been told that they know there are problems but they have no plans on fixing it... that 'it does not matter'...


Might have to open a Schwab account and see what they have...
Texas Proud is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2020, 01:25 AM   #7
Recycles dryer sheets
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 172
On the FIDO site, did you look at Portfolio > Performance > All Accounts > Show Details? Shows a graph and chart for the selected timeframe.
Done is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2020, 06:51 AM   #8
Thinks s/he gets paid by the post
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 1,673
Quote:
Originally Posted by Texas Proud View Post
OK, I have been wanting to move some of my money out of Vanguard and was looking for the best place to move... it seems that FIDO is winning...


BUT, I cannot find anywhere that they show me the graphs etc. that Vanguard shows... in the personal performance section FYI.



I can see what my gains/losses were in total or by month for 10 years, 5, 3 etc...


I can see my balances on a graph for the same (FIDO seems to have this but not that well IMO)


Am I missing where it is or do they not have anything like this?
Texas Proud, I'm confused. If you haven't moved any money to Fido how would you see any grafts/charts? I have 2 accounts with Fido, a rollover IRA (over 1 million) and a 401K (around 400k) and can see charts/grafts for both accounts showing gains/losses monthly, quarterly & yearly for year to date, 1 yr., 3 yrs., 5 yrs., 10 yrs., and life of data under the Performance tab. Below the chart is a button to show details for the same time frames. Maybe I'm not understanding your question. Does Fido show all the charts if you don't have an account yet?
edit: Saw in another post that you were restricted from buying preferred shares so you do have an account. So not sure why you can't view those grafts/charts in the Performance tab.
splitwdw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2020, 07:34 AM   #9
Give me a museum and I'll fill it. (Picasso)
Give me a forum ...
target2019's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Stuck in the mud somewhere in the NJ swamp
Posts: 7,078
If an investor really wants the Vanguard performance view, then they'd need to stick with Vanguard. It is simple to add and subtract accounts on that chart, but there is one shortcoming, that it doesn't have a YTD button. Maybe they've added that recently? Edit: I see a YTD drop down now. Good job Vanguard.

In Schwab account, I can segment my accounts into different saved configurations, and find much more information on the 30-page PDF it spits out in seconds:
Portfolio Performance
Account Performance
Portfolio Risk and Return
Model Comparison
Asset Class Performance
Holdings By Investor
It takes some exploring and learning to use Schwab if you want more than the default performance view, so it may not be right for everyone.
target2019 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2020, 05:47 PM   #10
Give me a museum and I'll fill it. (Picasso)
Give me a forum ...
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 15,611
Quote:
Originally Posted by Done View Post
On the FIDO site, did you look at Portfolio > Performance > All Accounts > Show Details? Shows a graph and chart for the selected timeframe.

My account does not have a performance tab...


Summary, positions, balances, activities, planning, analysis, cash, stmts and features...


Maybe I have to be there long enough to get it...
Texas Proud is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2020, 05:53 PM   #11
Give me a museum and I'll fill it. (Picasso)
Give me a forum ...
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 15,611
Quote:
Originally Posted by splitwdw View Post
Texas Proud, I'm confused. If you haven't moved any money to Fido how would you see any grafts/charts? I have 2 accounts with Fido, a rollover IRA (over 1 million) and a 401K (around 400k) and can see charts/grafts for both accounts showing gains/losses monthly, quarterly & yearly for year to date, 1 yr., 3 yrs., 5 yrs., 10 yrs., and life of data under the Performance tab. Below the chart is a button to show details for the same time frames. Maybe I'm not understanding your question. Does Fido show all the charts if you don't have an account yet?
edit: Saw in another post that you were restricted from buying preferred shares so you do have an account. So not sure why you can't view those grafts/charts in the Performance tab.



My mom had assets there and we just moved her holdings over... opened an estate account and one for my kid... also opened up a small account for me individually to try the site out.. so now have 4 accounts there.


Also opened one at Merrill Edge to check them out as they were rated high plus had a bonus to their credit card if you had enough assets...



Will now go for Schwab....


All are 'small' for me... Schwab will be the smallest at maybe $5k...
Texas Proud is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2020, 06:03 PM   #12
Thinks s/he gets paid by the post
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 1,673
Quote:
Originally Posted by Texas Proud View Post
My account does not have a performance tab...


Summary, positions, balances, activities, planning, analysis, cash, stmts and features...


Maybe I have to be there long enough to get it...

A-a-a-a, the missing "Performance tab", we talked about that in another thread. Don't think it was ever resolved. Some said they called their Fido rep and were told you needed a certain amount of money and another said it was because they hadn't been there long enough for a history.

https://www.early-retirement.org/for...lts-94882.html
splitwdw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2020, 06:15 PM   #13
Thinks s/he gets paid by the post
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Chicago West Burbs
Posts: 1,802
I wonder if the difference in whether you get the Fidelity graphs or not is whether you are at a certain level? Have you called and asked Fidelity if they have this for your account? I can choose YTD, 1,3,5,10 year or Life of available data. Data is graphed on either quarterly or monthly basis. The ins and outs of various accounts, 401K conversions, cashed in whole life Insurance and pensions etc, obfuscates any real value in tracking the data as a big block overall. For historical data, I can refer to my spreadsheets if desired which I track annually at EOY. YMMV.

Frankly, what I did 5, 10 or more years ago has no relevance to any decisions I may make today.
CRLLS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2020, 08:18 PM   #14
Give me a museum and I'll fill it. (Picasso)
Give me a forum ...
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Laurel, MD
Posts: 5,814
Quote:
Originally Posted by splitwdw View Post
A-a-a-a, the missing "Performance tab", we talked about that in another thread. Don't think it was ever resolved. Some said they called their Fido rep and were told you needed a certain amount of money and another said it was because they hadn't been there long enough for a history.

https://www.early-retirement.org/for...lts-94882.html


Yes. That thread has all the details wrt who qualifies for the performance tab. They did promise to add the tab for me even though I was below the minimum (see quote below) but they never did and I did not pursue.

Quote:
Originally Posted by jazz4cash View Post
I got another response from Fido to my request and they will waive the minimum balance requirement for me. I will get the "Performance" feature added to my account summary page starting Jan 1st. They warned that it will not calculate performance for balances prior to that date so it will take a long while before the data becomes useful.
__________________
...with no reasonable expectation for ER, I'm just here auditing the AP class.Retired 8/1/15.
jazz4cash is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2020, 10:08 PM   #15
Thinks s/he gets paid by the post
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 1,673
Quote:
Originally Posted by jazz4cash View Post
Yes. That thread has all the details wrt who qualifies for the performance tab. They did promise to add the tab for me even though I was below the minimum (see quote below) but they never did and I did not pursue.
Actually that thread does not have all the details. I think you came back with 3 different answers from your Fido rep:
1) managed account but not all of us have managed accounts
2) minimum required balance but no one posted what the minimum balance was
3) length of time that the account has been open but no one stated what that length of time was.
splitwdw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2020, 12:28 AM   #16
Thinks s/he gets paid by the post
teejayevans's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 1,550
Quote:
Originally Posted by pb4uski View Post
I dunno... I have both... Vanguard forever and Fido for about 20 months... and I don't get it.

I'm not even sure if Fido's website is better... perhaps a tad but certainly not light years.
Most people probably use an app anymore. Websites are so 1990s

Frankly I can do without the modern flash websites, they take a long time to load...for me speed and a simple interface is more important. But I donít like modern Windows interface either, old Windows XP works better, maybe not modern, but better.
teejayevans is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2020, 08:43 AM   #17
Give me a museum and I'll fill it. (Picasso)
Give me a forum ...
target2019's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Stuck in the mud somewhere in the NJ swamp
Posts: 7,078
Performance stats can be elusive. If you can't get them for whatever reason, your AA can be used with actual or proxy funds to generate a picture of growth. This isn't precise enough for some, I'll admit.
target2019 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2020, 09:28 AM   #18
Thinks s/he gets paid by the post
The Cosmic Avenger's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: Mid-Atlantic
Posts: 1,801
Quote:
Originally Posted by splitwdw View Post
Actually that thread does not have all the details. I think you came back with 3 different answers from your Fido rep:
1) managed account but not all of us have managed accounts
2) minimum required balance but no one posted what the minimum balance was
3) length of time that the account has been open but no one stated what that length of time was.
Well, it's definitely not #1, as I have the Performance tab (that I never noticed before!), but I do not have them managing any of my accounts. I am a Premium Services customer as of 2016 or so, and I've had my 401(k) there for 20+ years, so I can't say whether it's 2 or 3, but I'd guess #2, and it's usually around $1M for Premium Services.
__________________
-Looking to FIRE in the mid-2020s, which would be our mid-50s.
The Cosmic Avenger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2020, 05:17 PM   #19
Give me a museum and I'll fill it. (Picasso)
Give me a forum ...
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 15,611
Quote:
Originally Posted by teejayevans View Post
Most people probably use an app anymore. Websites are so 1990s

Frankly I can do without the modern flash websites, they take a long time to load...for me speed and a simple interface is more important. But I donít like modern Windows interface either, old Windows XP works better, maybe not modern, but better.

I do not want to have another app or website to go look at to see what I have in my returns...


I used to keep track annually but stopped that many years ago...



As mentioned by someone the historical information does not affect what I do today, BUT I still like to look at it and see if I had done something good or bad...



I like to see what my total income is by month... and with Vanguard I can for the past 10 years...


I will get with Fidelity to find out, from the attached previous thread it looks like it is either a year or a balance issue or maybe both...
Texas Proud is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2020, 05:35 PM   #20
Thinks s/he gets paid by the post
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Chicago West Burbs
Posts: 1,802
Quote:
Originally Posted by Texas Proud View Post
.....

As mentioned by someone the historical information does not affect what I do today, BUT I still like to look at it and see if I had done something good or bad...
To what end, really? Looking at one's historical return will either give one a great feeling or a defeating one. It is just like racing and gunfighting. There will always be someone who will do better and someone who will do worse than you. What they did last week or last year has nothing to do with what they will do this week or next year. Unless they are the ones who like looking at trophies and like to brag.

To be honest, I have a spreadsheet that goes back >20 years. I don't use any of that info at all. It just sits there.
CRLLS is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Where to find total return interactive graphs? free4now FIRE and Money 5 11-03-2008 08:11 PM
Charts and Graphs that make you go "Hmmm" ladelfina FIRE and Money 4 09-20-2007 12:01 PM
Net Worth Graphs in Quicken?? Cut-Throat FIRE and Money 10 10-14-2005 04:36 PM
Website with graphs of savings growth MooreBonds FIRE and Money 4 09-17-2005 03:24 PM

» Quick Links

 
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 10:35 PM.
 
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.