Bear market background

free4now

Thinks s/he gets paid by the post
I found this article interesting, especially the table listing the various historical bear markets:

Bears on the prowl in S&P 500

The S&P 500 has entered 12 bear markets since 1937. On average, they lasted 19 months and reduced the S&P 500 index by 34 percent.

Oh well, for those of us who have a while before retirement, I think it is fune, considering the wholesale discount prices we will be getting on our purchases.

If it's any consolation, I started investing in equities in 1972. I'm sure that bear era plus continuing on in several bull markets is what got me to FI by age 60 despite goofing off in semi-retirement for years and never having a high salary.

I'm not a statistics expert, and I'm sure one will come along and slap me down soon, but that data is so widely dispersed (length of bear market) that I don't think that 19 month average means much. About all you can get from the table in that article is that it's anyones guess.

I'm not a statistics expert, and I'm sure one will come along and slap me down soon, but that data is so widely dispersed (length of bear market) that I don't think that 19 month average means much. About all you can get from the table in that article is that it's anyones guess.

I also wonder where it is written that once the market is down > 20% it must then decline to at least the average bear market decline level.

Obviously there's no reason to assume the future will be exactly the average of what happened in the past. But the data in the table was interesting to me... the fact that the longest bear was only 62 months and that most are much shorter is hopeful to me.

Obviously there's no reason to assume the future will be exactly the average of what happened in the past. But the data in the table was interesting to me... the fact that the longest bear was only 62 months and that most are much shorter is hopeful to me.