How Did You Learn About Money??

FinanceDude

Give me a museum and I'll fill it. (Picasso) Give me a forum ...
I learned how by working at the Foundation at the University I attended, by hanging around the Foundation accountant....... ;)

Mostly self taught myself. Browsing the internet, reading books, and participating in forums such as this.

Ponks

Hearing my paternal grandparents bring up the subject quite often on random topics, combined with an affinity for numbers (reading the Wall Street Journal in the morning with my dad when I was in kindergarden..sure, I didn't grasp many of the concepts, but I knew enough to tell him to buy IBM. Too bad he didn't listen to me. :) ) Add in a helping of being a bit of a money hoarder, and you arrive at someone who has a desire to learn about money, and how to grow it.

i learned by not having any

subscribed to Money magazine and read it from cover to cover for years.
Read the financial section of the paper every Sunday and the special money section every Monday for years.
Took books out of the library like Bernstein and read.

And I still learn new things.

Books, newspapers, internet and I'm still learning.

Self taught shortly before ER and continuing - thanks teachers :-*

We were only able to accumulate a substantial nest egg because of an OK adviser (who also made a few bucks off of us, but I don't begrudge her any of it -- we were clueless). And a nice Fed pension helped. Without the advent of the Internet I think I would still be in the clutches of advisers.

donheff said:
We were only able to accumulate a substantial nest egg because of an OK adviser (who also made a few bucks off of us, but I don't begrudge her any of it -- we were clueless). And a nice Fed pension helped. Without the advent of the Internet I think I would still be in the clutches of advisers.

Your paragraph above I find pretty funny........... :LOL: :LOL:

donheff said:
And a nice Fed pension helped.