Embarrassed and guilty when asked...

SAtoUS

Recycles dryer sheets
I'm ashamed to tell people I'm not working anymore, I'm not even 50.

Now when asked, I tell people I'm a property manager. Kinna true, I live on the income from all my properties :)

Anybody else feels the same?

Doesn't bother me a bit. It bothers me when I say I quit work at 56, rather than 46...

I just say long term unemployed and looking for a loan. That moves the conversation along.

I think it totally depends on how old you are. People feel uncomfortable when you answer honestly. Lots of people then make assumptions to fit into their "normal". .. ie usually responses like, oh your unemployed or your husband must make a LOT of money, good for you. I just go with it, unless they are someone I'm going to see all the time, not really any of their business and I don't care... but there are a few people I wanted to be better friends with that are still adjusting.

What's wrong with saying "I'm retired"? It sounds perfectly normal to me. I say it all the time and rarely get much question about it.

I'm ashamed to tell people I'm not working anymore, I'm not even 50.

Now when asked, I tell people I'm a property manager. Kinna true, I live on the income from all my properties :)

Anybody else feels the same?

1st congratulations on hitting the finish line so young. I've always dreaded and avoided the sooo what do you do conversation, while working.

I've often found that when someone asks the question it is usually for two reasons:
1) they want to brag about how important they are compared to you.
2) they want to see if they can get anything from you ie better job, contacts, or improved social status.

As I'm on the glide path, I'm struggling with the same issues, and have felt the curiosity and resentment when trying to figure out how to accomplish some of the challenges we will face when making the transition to full retirement.

Congratulations!