How long did you work?

I was a management consultant for 33 years - consulting actuary

It's hard to say exactly. As far as my main career, it was 20 years full time and 2 years part-time. But I did a lot of part-time and occasionally full-time work prior to that, too, in a handful of different jobs. Maybe 30 years if you add it all together and don't differentiate full vs. part time.

25 years for the Megacorp from which I retired, plus about another 7 years FT at two other companies before that.

34 years. Last 25 at megacorp. 30 years in IT sales and management.

I got my first part-time j*b in 1975 (age 15). I started w*rking full-time around 1982 (age 23). I w*rked continuously from then until I retired in 2018 (36 years).

23 working years after high school. Just figuring that out sure puts a smile on my face.

43 years working in the Oilpatch based on retiring end of Dec, 2020.

Will have paid into Social Security since age 16 for 45 years.

Was working mowing yards from time I could barely push a lawn mower, hauling hay, watermelons, farm work, working in parents store, etc....

I agree with the caveat that completing an MBA while working is very beneficial. At least it was for me.

I had a different experience. At one point I was considering getting an MBA. I had taken the GMATs and had schools interested in me applying. But at the time, my Megacorp tended to promote from within. My management told me that it was fine to get a MBA for my own personal reasons, but advancement in the company would depend on my on the job performance. So I never pursued it (though I did over the years take some graduate business courses that Megacorp provided).

I can see it helping you with skills if one wanted to enter and advance in management. But I did not have that desire, though I was a manager for about 6 years before Megacorp extended technical careers to the executive pay level. I preferred that route.