Concern re: Job Loss

Craig

Full time employment: Posting here.
Alright, this will likely sound a bit goofy, but this is a nearly anonymous board, so let me give this a try.  Your collective wisdom and decency is evident here.

The job market has been pretty tough last few years, and I do financial management for a living.  Great pay when you can land the jobs, but very high pressure, and the average CFO gig only lasts an average of 28 months.  [I've generally stayed employed, but it has been "interesting".]  That 28 months comes from a solid source, and I've seen it in action.  My age 54 wife is training to be a paralegal, and should be working by July or August (likely comp $28K to start).  My age is 53, and we've created $500K liquid savings, plus another $900K in net real estate equity producing about $1,900 net rental income monthly.  The PITI on our home is less than $1,600, though we're paying it off in 5 years with a much higher payment.  No other debt.

We're now able to save significantly while I'm employed, since we've finally learned to LBYM, and, when I run the numbers, it appears we should be fine, even if I couldn't get another job after this one ends.

Still, I'll be honest ... I worry.  We have a 13 year old, and a 21 year old (diagnosed as disabled a year and a half ago, and not likely to ever hold a decent paying job).  Lost both parents in the last 4 years, and I think that adds to my sense of unease.

Now, as I've worked and reworked our numbers and our plan, I've started to wonder if I am going through what perhaps some or most of you went through when you finally decided to stop working.  That is, it must be a leap of faith to finally quit, and begin drawing down your nest egg, especially if you do so in anticipation of SS saving you from depleting your funds.