Push-Up Breathing Question

joesxm3

Thinks s/he gets paid by the post
I am not that experienced with exercising and would like to start doing some body weight exercise, such as push ups.

Last year when my friends were needling me about how many push ups I could do I showed them and one said that if I kept holding my breath while doing them I would blow a gasket.

I assume that I should be breathing in on one phase of the push up and breathing out on the other, but does it make a difference which way I do it? That is, should I be breathing in during the harder "up" phase and exhaling during the easier "down" phase?

I guess that brings another question to mind. If I consider the "down" phase to be easier, does that mean I am not controlling my push up enough and should be going slower and supporting my body weight more during the "down" phase?

As you can see, I am pretty clueless on exercise technique.

Thanks.

I just breathe normally during push-ups, not paying attention to whether I'm breathing in or out when I'm going up or down. But I do watch my form making sure my back is straight and I have a full range of motion.

Sent from my iPad using Early Retirement Forum

Yes. Just breath normally. You will find your own "rhythm."

But do NOT keep holding your breath

Exhale on the effort when lifting weights, I assume it applies to push ups too.

Right, always exhale on the power stroke, inhale on the ralaxation move.

I would suggest you find someone who can help you with form and alternative approaches which will produce better results and likely less injury. I am an 'exerciser' but not educated in training. My comments are from my current experience of hiring my first personal trainer.