Statin Wars?

stephenson

Thinks s/he gets paid by the post
This has probably been discussed before ...

Buddy of mine who has a stated mistrust of doctors sent it to me after i accused him of not trusting doctors ��

I had shared that I aged into statins by turning 65 and having slight elevated BP ...

Looking for thoughtful input wrt this topic ...

Last edited:
Yeah, we've had many lengthy discussions here about statins, the diet/cholesterol hypothesis, the wisdom of eating red meat, and related matters. If you do a search using some of those key words, you will likely find them. I am not a doctor, but my opinion, after doing a whole lot of reading on the topics of diet, cardiovascular disease, and statins, is that statins are probably only really appropriate in a small minority of cases. They may reduce cholesterol, but since cholesterol is not the cause of heart disease, a reduction in cholesterol is probably not something to strive for (in fact, people over age 60 with somewhat high cholesterol tend to live longer than those with lower cholesterol). Statins are big business, and a huge money-maker for the big pharmaceutical companies. They tend to get prescribed a lot by physicians because the old hypothesis was that cholesterol caused heart disease, and that anything that reduced cholesterol was a good thing. In the last 20 years or so, that hypothesis has been largely refuted, but things change slowly, so a lot of physicians still cling to the old theory of heart disease. If you want to get an idea what your risk of having cardiovascular disease is, there are other things (blood test numbers) you can look at that have a much higher predictive value than cholesterol. Among them are things like your triglyceride/HDL ratio, your hBA1C number, and your fasting insulin number. Since heart disease is probably an inflammatory disease, your C-Reactive Protein blood test result is another one to look at (CRP is an indicator of the amount of inflammation going on in y