Victory Gardens

Status
Not open for further replies.

brewer12345

Give me a museum and I'll fill it. (Picasso) Give me a forum ...
Anyone planting a Covid-19 [mod edit] victory garden? I usually plant a vegetable garden in my 3 raised beds, but this year I will be managing them more intensively than in the past. Potatoes are getting kicked out of the beds and getting grown in feed sacks (new process for us this year). Planting more of the stuff that robustly produces and maximizing yield of veggies as much as possible. Much more intensively planting the early, cold hardy stuff (a few types of lettuce and the arugala are already starting to come up, still waiting on spinach, turnips and beets). I am not good at doing starts from seeds and my neighbor is a master at it, so she is starting the seeds and I will be more than happy to share produce with her. I had seeds so having her start them means going to the garden center is optional and I will not be at risk of a supply shortage.

Last edited by a moderator:
I always have a vegetable garden but this year I am planting more. I have my tomato plants ready to be planted when the soil is warm enough. I started them Feb 1, so they are pretty tall. I added kale, chard and lettuce to my usual vegetables for this year.

I tend to plant tomatoes, zucchini, baby butternut, lemon squash and green beans. I'll tuck the chard and kale into the corners. Lettuce doesn't like my hot summers so I can cover it with row cover and plant new transplants every 6 weeks or so because it tends to bolt in the heat.

Have your neighbor write her instruction for starts so you can try them next year. I start mine in the house on heat mats (everything but the lettuce) , and move them under grow lights when they germinate. After awhile I move them to my greenhouse until they are ready to go in the ground. I really enjoy it, but this year it will be more of everything so I wont need to shop as much.