Early Retirement & Financial Independence Community

Early Retirement & Financial Independence Community (https://www.early-retirement.org/forums/)
-   Life after FIRE (https://www.early-retirement.org/forums/f29/)
-   -   Golf Talk Tuesdays 2015-2020 (https://www.early-retirement.org/forums/f29/golf-talk-tuesdays-2015-2020-a-78866.html)

jcretire77 01-30-2019 02:09 PM

That video was so cool. Thanks for sharing.

pb4uski 02-02-2019 10:10 PM

I got my first ever hole-in-one (and first ever eagle for that matter) today. The hole was 118 yard par 3, slightly uphill with a large bunker protecting the green and a front pin. I hit a pitching wedge... caught it well but thought it might be bit short so I called out for it to "go"... it cleared the bunker and I breathed a sigh of relief..... then it took a big hop and started rolling towards the pin. I almost turned away at that point, but the ball started curling to the left and then we lost sight of it and the high-fives began! :dance:

I had a post hole-in-one f-up with a double bogie on the next hole, but had a good round overall...41/41/82... +10 gross... -11 net ... the 82 was not a personal best but close to a personal best.

Anywho, that was my excitement for the day. Pretty cool!

Midpack 02-03-2019 12:49 AM

^^ Congrats, bucket list moment!

zinger1457 02-03-2019 09:26 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by pb4uski (Post 2184268)
I got my first ever hole-in-one (and first ever eagle for that matter) today.

Congratulations!!!

RockyMtn 02-03-2019 10:17 AM

Congratulations....what was the bar bill?

Had two, one in 2008, one in 2013 so I'm thinking i'm about due again!;D

pb4uski 02-03-2019 11:32 AM

Well, I don't know the bar bill yet.

I bought a round for our foursome when the drinks cart met us on the next hole... $20... the ladies were behind us but only playing nine holes so I called DD with the good news and asked her to buy a round for the ladies... $60... but for the guys playing 18 by the time we finished the bar was closed. I offered for us to stop at a watering hole on the way home but everyone was pretty tired as it was a fairly hot afternoon and they declined... so I told them (3 foursomes) that I'll buy drinks at lunch before our tee times next week. But assuming another $80 or so there probably only $160 in total.

brainsagolfer 02-03-2019 11:40 AM

I had my only hole in one 4 years ago- Also chipped in over a bunker on a par 5 for eagle in the same 9 holes in our league- Bar bill was 400$, but i won 2350$ from the hole in one Pot! Best part- i had agreed on the first tee to play with a buddy of mine and 2 of his friends at a course 3 hours away from here the next day- i got home at 1130 and had to meet them in the parking lot at 0330. I was not even hung over yet- just kept telling myself to not throw up in the back seat of this guy i do not know's car as he took the twisty turns on the Blue Ridge parkway in his little Beemer!
THEN- we had 5 birdies and an eagle on the front 9 of that course between the 4 of us! Shot about 53 on the back though!!

Huston55 02-03-2019 02:11 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by pb4uski (Post 2184268)
I got my first ever hole-in-one Pretty cool!

Well done!!! :dance::dance::dance:

frayne 02-04-2019 07:08 AM

Congrats on the hole in one, a feat not many can put on their bucket list accomplishments.

VanWinkle 02-04-2019 07:15 AM

Congrats pb, I am still waiting for my first!! I've heard it helps if you hit the green!!

VW

Dawg52 02-04-2019 08:45 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by pb4uski (Post 2184268)
I got my first ever hole-in-one (and first ever eagle for that matter) today. The hole was 118 yard par 3, slightly uphill with a large bunker protecting the green and a front pin. I hit a pitching wedge... caught it well but thought it might be bit short so I called out for it to "go"... it cleared the bunker and I breathed a sigh of relief..... then it took a big hop and started rolling towards the pin. I almost turned away at that point, but the ball started curling to the left and then we lost sight of it and the high-fives began! :dance:


Congrats. Perhaps #2 will soon follow.

zinger1457 02-04-2019 08:59 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by VanWinkle (Post 2184985)
Congrats pb, I am still waiting for my first!! I've heard it helps if you hit the green!!

VW

It also helps to have patience, it took me over 40 years of playing golf before I got my first one.

njgolfer67 02-09-2019 12:54 PM

I think we need to expect current avid golfers to be the one's to engage new generations of golfers. I taught my boys as soon as they could hold clubs by using driving ranges and par 3s. I made sure they knew the importance of pace of play and respect. Then it's important to get them playing with juniors their age or some competitive fashion to make it stick. Both of my boys like to play, but have bigger priorities in their early 20s. I expect it to build when they can play with professional peers and at least we have something we can do together for decades.

Have we all introduced a junior to the game?

Huston55 02-09-2019 01:53 PM

Njgolfer-

I know you donít post a lot so, nice to see you on this thread!

gcgang 02-18-2019 03:04 PM

Biggest Choke/Collapses

Saw JT los to JB shooting last round 75. Must've been something in the air yesterday.

We had our 2019 Club Champ at KingK.

Due to rain, Course CLOSED Wednesday Thursday Friday. Sat-Sun played lift-clean- place, thru the green (roughs, too). Black-Blue tees, about 6750.

Saturday only 3 players break 80, 2017 Champ(79), 2018Champ(75), and me(77).

Sun I 3 putt twice from 15&30 ft in first 3 holes. Basket case. End up with 5 3putts after none Sat.

2017Champ, who's drives are 30-40 yds longer than my best, starts with 10 pars before birdying the 11th, while me & 2018 shoot 42. He now has 5 stroke lead on defending champ. Makes a couple bogeys and a double to still lead by 2 coming to the 165 yard par 3 17th. 2017Champ made 12 on this hole leading in last round a few years ago. This time he shanks his tee shot into the weeds. Hits another which he absolutely heels, almost hitting his own left leg, bouncing off a rock wall and coming to rest about 10 yards ahead of the tee. Fats his next(4th) with the 2nd ball. Then finds his original in the weeds. It's not a hazard, so he lift-clean-place within a scorecard, and hacks it out. So he's now hitting 3 from 100 yards. He fats this one halfway, chips up and takes 6. 2018 pars. 2017 starts saying how he just gave away.

2018, now w 2 stroke lead on par 5 18th, is legitimate scratch golfer. He pipes his drive, then hits his 2nd shot dead right OB. Hits his provisional the same way, but it hits a tree and stays in. He makes 8.

2017 Champ is 70 yds off green in 2, par ties low in clubhouse, birdie wins. He lays the sod over it again, chips up makes bogey.

I finish birdie-par to end up 1 stroke behind them.

Crazy game.

sanfanciscotreat 02-18-2019 03:17 PM

I believe the rules say that if you think a ball is lost and you put another in play, you cannot play the originally lost ball even if you find it.

Big_Hitter 02-18-2019 03:32 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by sanfanciscotreat (Post 2193042)
I believe the rules say that if you think a ball is lost and you put another in play, you cannot play the originally lost ball even if you find it.

you are allowed to play a provisional ball

pb4uski 02-18-2019 05:40 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by sanfanciscotreat (Post 2193042)
I believe the rules say that if you think a ball is lost and you put another in play, you cannot play the originally lost ball even if you find it.

If the player declared the ball to be a provisional ball when he teed it then it is a provision until he gets to where his first ball is thought to be.

But you are right, if he did not say to his competitors that it was a provisional ball then the first ball is abandoned and his second ball is his only ball in play.

gcgang, did 2017 champ declare the ball after one he shanked into the weeds to be a provisional ball?

pb4uski 02-18-2019 05:42 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Big_Hitter (Post 2193049)
you are allowed to play a provisional ball

Yes, but you have to declare it is a provisional ball with your competitors... if you fail to do that and just put another ball in play then the first ball is considered abandoned.

gcgang 02-18-2019 05:58 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by pb4uski (Post 2193120)
If the player declared the ball to be a provisional ball when he teed it then it is a provision until he gets to where his first ball is thought to be.

But you are right, if he did not say to his competitors that it was a provisional ball then the first ball is abandoned and his second ball is his only ball in play.

gcgang, did 2017 champ declare the ball after one he shanked into the weeds to be a provisional ball?

I mentioned this to 2018 while both balls were in play. I didn't hear him declare provisional. 2018 declined to do anything. I thought it too much of an a**hole thing for me to try to enforce if the guy who would benefit wasn't going to do it. I know, I know, protect the field. I would've mentioned it to 2017 if he would've tied/won overall. Let him make the call if it came to that.

But still, it was such a tragedy for him, it would've been too much to make it worse by bringing it up. And I am a Rules guy.

So, we've never had a repeat Champion.


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 07:06 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.