A Funny Thing Happened Choosing a Computer OS

easysurfer

Give me a museum and I'll fill it. (Picasso) Give me a forum ...
I just ordered an old Mac Laptop on ebay.

Been ages since I've used a Mac. At one time, a computer from Apple was my favorite OS, then Win and I had no clue about Linux.

Today, my favorite to use at times is Linux, then Win (more familiar) and don't know much about Apple.

I guess change is the one constant :popcorn:.

I guess the bottom line is I just need the right tool for the job regardless of OS.

Oh, I own to many laptops by the way :(.

I'm still hesitating to buy a Chromebook. I sort of want to play with a different OS, but then again, I seem to have a long list of unfinished projects.
-ERD50

Chrome books are cheap and don't get viruses - :)

Google "convert laptop to chromebook"

I took an old laptop running real slow on Widows 7 and converted to run as a Chromebook. Been running like a champ ever since.

Was fairly easy to do. I am no computer expert but it worked.

Maybe dealing with different OS is a way to keep the brain sharp.

I'm still hesitating to buy a Chromebook. I sort of want to play with a different OS, but then again, I seem to have a long list of unfinished projects.
-ERD50

Actually an unfinished project is what lead me to getting an old, used Mac laptop.

Google "convert laptop to chromebook"

I took an old laptop running real slow on Widows 7 and converted to run as a Chromebook. Been running like a champ ever since.

Was fairly easy to do. I am no computer expert but it worked.
Thanks for that. I never even thought about doing that. I have 2 old windows laptops just sitting around. I think I will try this. The wife especially only uses the laptop for email and web browsing and nothing else. I may be able to turn one of the old ones in to something faster than she has now which she occasionally complains about being slow.:)