Condo administration cost (HOA dues)?

6% here but it is a townhome community so everything done outside is the responsibility of the HOA which needs a property manager to handle landscaping, pool maintenance, sidewalk/pavement repair (private road), etc.

Please forgive me for getting long winded, but after being Treasurer of an HOA for 25 years, I have some experience.
In general, there are 2 kinds of developments; in Florida they are mostly apartment style condos. In other places, like mine, they are townhouse developments, where each unit has an entrance to the outside.
In general, the HOA fees cover management, common area utilities and maintenance, repairs, and a reserve.
The reserve covers money set aside for future replacement of items,depending on their life, such as roofs, fences, pool equipment, etc.
If an HOA does not have adequate reserves, every time something big needs replacement, there has to be a special assessment.
In the case of the condo collapse in Florida, the homeowners dithered for years about making necessary repairs, and we know the result.

We are having a tough time getting people to volunteer for the HOA board, and it looks as if we may have to hire a professional management company instead of our DIY approach.

If so, it will obviously raise our monthly dues, so I would appreciate hearing with others pay. If it's enough, it may induce some to decide volunteering would be in their best interests

If you have a professional management firm for your HOA, can you tell me about how much they cost per homeowner?

It will be some percentage of your monthly payment, and you may not have an exact budget breakdown that shows it, but a ballpark figure would be great.

Our HOA management company charges us $1,207.50 per month. There are 36 units, so it's about $33.50 per unit per month. The total dues are $322 per month per unit.