DH in Hospital under Observation and Medicare Issues

TrvlBug

Thinks s/he gets paid by the post
Took DH to ER last night and they kept him overnight for observation and to get meds right. Have heard horror stories about Medicare not covering observation. Does anyone have personal experience with this? Any recommendations? Thanks.

Sorry to hear about this, TrvlBug. Hope he is doing better today. The issue with Medicare and observation that I'm aware of is that they only cover skilled nursing after a 3 night admission to the hospital (not observation). There may be other issues but this is the one we ran into with DM.

Trvlbug, I have no experience but hope your husband is feeling better soon.

Observation is covered under part b not part a. If you have a medigap policy that direct expense will be fully covered, but the cost of prescriptions will be under part D. As noted because it is covered under part b the nursing home benefit also will not apply.

Thank you for the prompt replies and best wishes. DH is in because of Afib + RVR. Last night his heartbeat just went bonkers jumping from 130s to 160s sometimes coming down to the 80/90s. He had Afib and had cardioversions and an ablation 5 years ago. Nothing since until last night. Waiting for a call to pick him up as well as from his cardiologist for an appt. We suspect a pacemaker is in his immediate future.

Good to know about Medicare...didn't remember the nuances and of course, my gray matter is not working at its finest at the moment!

And we have a sick cat at home!

Last edited:
Thank you for the prompt replies and best wishes. DH is in because of Afib + RVR. Last night his heartbeat just went bonkers jumping from 130s to 160s sometimes coming down to the 80/90s. He had Afib and had cardioversions and an ablation 5 years ago. Nothing since until last night. Waiting for a call to pick him up as well as from his cardiologist for an appt. We suspect a pacemaker is in his immediate future.