Forgotten Pension??

zinger1457

Thinks s/he gets paid by the post
Just got a letter from the SS administration stating that I have retirement benefits due from a previous employer. The letter looks legit based on the information listed. I worked as an engineer in aerospace back in the 80's and early 90's, never worked directly for the employer listed (Raytheon) on the SS form but they did take over the company I worked for shortly after I left. What I find strange is I'm certain I opted out of the defined pension plan when I started working, didn't expect to stay very long, so went the IRA/401K route for my retirement savings. Not certain why I would get the benefit and it's not a huge amount (~$110K), will have to contact Raytheon benefits office next week to get to the bottom of it. Anyone else ever run into something similar?

Similar situation for me. I worked for a technology company in the Midwest in the late 80s/early 90s but didn’t think I was there long enough to qualify for the pension plan. Years later I was contacted by the outfit that administers the pension plan for the company that bought out the portion of the company I worked for. Turns out I do have a small pension with them that will be worth a few hundred bucks a month, depending on when I take it and if I opt for survivor benefits. I checked it out carefully before supplying any personal info, but it turned out to be wholly legit. Was a nice surprise.

Somewhat similar. I received a letter the month I turned 65 telling me I was eligible for my pension - from an insurance company that managed a pension for a company I had worked at for 8 years when I was in my 20's! So, about 40 years ago. The company had been bought out by another in 1989. I had no idea I had a pension coming to me. I was given a choice of $88 monthly pension (no survivor) or a lump sum of a little more than $12,000 (after taxes). So, not nearly as nice a surprise as yours, but still a surprise.