GE Electric Glass Cooktop - Element Replacement

Vincenzo Corleone

Full time employment: Posting here.
Does anyone have any experience replacing a heating element/burner on an electric glass cooktop? I have a GE electric glass cooktop (model PP950SM1SS) and received an estimate from GE. I can't believe the amount of money it'll cost to have a GE technician replace it so I'm playing with the idea of replacing it myself. I can get the same exact heating element for about $100 less than the one GE wants to send me. I've never attempted this before and I'm a bit hesitant. I found some YouTube videos that walk you through this, but not for my model - not sure if it matters or if they're all pretty much the same.

Any tips, hints, advice?

It may not meet your needs but if I were in your situation I would look into replacing the entire cooktop with an induction unit.

Unfortunately, I have no experience replacing heating elements.

Looks easy

I replaced one burner in my Maytag stove a few years ago.

I no longer remember the details, but watching the above video jogged my memory. Yes, it was easy, kind of like that.

There was a warehouse selling appliance replacement parts only a few miles from my home. I went there to buy the part, and installed it. Easy peasy.

I have a similar unit and I will be replacing the whole unit in a couple of weeks.

We had two burners go. One of them is the stupid "burner with a smaller burner in it" in the front. Pricing the two replacements out we found an unused complete unit on Kijiji for just $100 more than the two burner elements would have cost brand new. No brainer.

I'm getting a friend to help me install as I'm a little leery of 220V stuff.

I’ve done it at least 3 times on my 20+ year old range. I probably spend more time pulling it out (it’s a slide-in) and removing the screws than replacing the heating element. Pretty sure the last replacement was a used element from eBay at about 1/3 the cost of new.