Here's a puzzler

With our chosen strategy of letting him address it himself

Just want to chime in that I am really impressed you are able to control the urge to micromanage this rather than impart the valuable life lesson to your son that he is ultimately in control of and responsible for his own destiny. It sounds likely that something good will be worked out anyway.

Not having raised children myself, I am no expert but I can say my parents were hands off and I believe this helped develop in me a sense of self reliance which has helped me greatly throughout life. Early-retirement.org is about as far as I go seeking assistance :greetings10:

I see so many of my colleagues micromanaging their children's lives. One of them regularly fields 6-7 calls from her teenage son during the schoolday to tell him how to handle everything. The other day, I heard her dispatching her nanny in an Uber to the school with a boxed lunch because he had forgotten his at home. I really don't think he's acquiring the skills to fend for himself.

Last edited:
I can appreciate this perspective, as my daughter has gone a similar route. However, home-schooled and alternative-schooled kids present that they are such. That is obviously not the case in OP's situation.

This is, I think, basically right. Despite what many have said in this thread many universities do not require a high school diploma. They often require that you have taken certain courses, but have graduated. It is not all that unusual for kids under 18 to enter college early without having graduated high school.

Another path which works even for the general population is to start CC without a high school diploma and then transfer to university based upon the high college work. DS (who had graduated high school) started CC at 16. When he transferred to the university they didn't even ask to see his high school transcript. They did want to see his CC transcript.