Homesteader trapped in a Cubical

Argus

Dryer sheet aficionado
Hello, I found this site by accident and find it choke full of useful information. I’ve trolled for a bit and figured it’s time to post an introduction.

So here it goes.

I’m a 52yo staff manager at a medium size private firm for the last 22 years. Previous professional jobs were similar in character, just lower on the food chain. I hit the glass ceiling some eight or nine years ago and have become disillusioned with my track in life. Looking back at my childhood and the lifestyle I grew up around, I’ve come to realize how much of the agrarian community I am missing by living and working in the densely urban north east. I began working at the age of 13 (farm work) and have worked every year’s since. Basically, I’m ready to step off the tread mill and re-establish my connection with life via homesteading.

Homesteading, in a nutshell, is living a lifestyle with limited external input, hyper-managing living expenses to live comfortably, and land stewardship. All well within, or below the financial means. My SO is seven years younger and we plan to have her take on the medical insurance until she retires. Her salary goes to her 401k, Roth IRA and paying off student loans, so we live on only my salary. Her loans will be paid in full in three year’s.

With this in mind here are my details:
I presently make $101k and defer 15% to the 401k and my company matches 25% to a max of 6% of gross salary.

I plan to retire at 62 and take SS at 65. BUT, I would like to retire at 58.

I have $275k in a 401k (all mutual funds): 16% Health Sciences, 16% Utilities, 30% domestic large cap & dividend appreciation, 25% small cap growth, 13% bond and 10% foreign stocks.

$36k in a Roth IRA all in Fidelity “Lifestyle” fund.

$36k in three DRIPs.

$10k in one individual dividend paying stock (2.5% yield).

$7k in laddered 10yr TIPS with the first maturity in 2017, last in 2024.

$1300 I Bonds.

$20k cash savings.