Is an index stock fund portfolio strategy still valid?

lwp2017

Recycles dryer sheets
I posted this on Bogleheads, would appreciate your perspectives.

How can a 3-Fund Portfolio investment strategy using a SP500 index fund ( VINIX) still be valid with only ten companies (FAANGS) dominating market earnings?

No longer is risk of loss spread amongst a broad pool of 500 companies in different sectors; changes in a few companies or a single sector ( technology) significantly affects the index. Thus changes in a few results in greater volatility.

Thus a key benefit of a stock index fund from risk diversification is greatly diminished.

Personal Perspective for context:

I've been using Vanguard index funds with satisfaction for 25+ years, I stayed 70/30 in 2000 and 2008 and did well in the long run as the stock side nicely rebounded.

However, this spring 2018 I transitioned from a three fund portfolio to a fixed income and bond portfolio yielding avg 2.7% until I gain a personal comfort level with these atypical market conditions.

I just retired in April, had been concerned our retirement plans were vulnerable to sequence of return risks with a FANGS dominated stock portfolio. Eliminating VINIX allowed me to sleep better.

I'm fortunate to have living expense needs met with a pension and the 2.7% fixed income return allows all of our retirement plans to be fulfilled.
We are in a high spend travel phase (3% withdrawal rate) for the next 10 years, assuming health stays good, then we will phase back to 2.5% as the travel itches are satiated.

I don't expect these market conditions to last more than 2 or 3 years and do plan to transition back into SP500 index fund assuming a reversion to the historical mean.
" Market timing" is a a red flag, but I see these conditions analogous to being in a hurricane landfall zone of uncertainty. It's gonna hit, just when and how bad?

Thanks

Reference:
https://www.bloomberg.com/news/articles ... half-gains