Medicare Premiums over Time

Rianne

Thinks s/he gets paid by the post
I started a thread about Mutual of Omaha Medicare supplements and how they "close the book" on Medicare recipients and charge higher premiums over time.

I'd like a better understanding of Medicare supplement increases over time with various companies.

If you're interested in sharing:

What is your initial Medicare supplement premium compared to what you're paying today?

How long have you been on Medicare?

What company did you sign up with initially?

Did you change Medicare supplement companies because of premium increases?

Thanks, I'm new to Medicare and am in the window where I can change my supplement company without underwriting.

Rianne, I think you are attempting to know the unknowable. There are too many variables in how insurance companies price Medigap policies for the information you are seeking to be meaningful.

I've been on Medicare and had a Medigap policy for 10 years. I've spent way too much time researching the pros and cons of the various carriers and how they rate policies (community, attained age, etc.). I reached the conclusion that there are two basic strategies in how premiums are priced: You can pay more now or you can pay more later.

I chose to 'pay more later' by going with MoO. I've been with them four years (age 71 - 75) and have paid an average of $101/mo. There is no way to know before my expiration date if I made a good choice or would have spent less going with another carrier or a community rated plan. When I do learn which was the best choice it will be too late to do anything about it. :)