Medigap question

pb4uski

Give me a museum and I'll fill it. (Picasso) Give me a forum ...
DW will be eligible for Medicare in March 2020 and me in November 2020... so I started learning about Medigap. Also in 2020, we will also be moving our residence from Vermont to Florida but we have flexibility on the effective date of the move/change in domicile.

My initial research suggests that Medigap premiums in Vermont are about $40/month less than in Florida (BCBS in each case as we have had BCBS for many years).

The information that I see regarding when we move says:
You can keep your current Medigap policy no matter where you live as long as you still have Original Medicare. If you want to switch to a different Medigap policy, you'll have to check with your current or new insurance company to see if they'll offer you a different policy.

If you decide to switch, you may have to pay more for your new Medigap policy. You may also have to answer some medical questions if you're buying a Medigap policy outside of your Medigap open enrollment period.

So I'm thinking that we are better off to buy Medigap policies before we move since the monthly premium is ~$40/month less (~$80 for the two of us).

It seems like we'll save $80/month for life all else being equal. What am I missing?

Last edited:
Take this from a novice. From what I understand, you can keep your Medigap policy when you move. However You do have to notify them of the change of address and the provider has the right to charge you their going rate in your new home's area. It looks like you won't be saving that $1k per year after the move if you stay with the same policy. You also have the right to look for other companies and plans. Some options may not be offered in your present location. You and DW may have to go thru underwriting. This is not a guaranteed issue event.