Need Input from the Performance Car Lovers

eytonxav

Give me a museum and I'll fill it. (Picasso) Give me a forum ...
I've been sharing an SUV with DW for several years, and am getting the urge for my own car again. I've owned many performance oriented cars in the past and am looking in that direction again, but do not want to spend the big bucks, so want to stay under $50K. To this end, I am looking at a 2017 Camaro, and am considering two very different configurations. One is a 1SS1LE which is kind of bare bones 6 spd manual model oriented toward the race track, while the other is a 2SS 50th anniversary edition with an 8 spd paddle shift automatic. The automatic is faster in a straight line and has more creature comforts and tech features, while the manual is slightly slower in a straight line, but has significantly more grip and track oriented options. The manual model also has a lower price. I drove the automatic one yesterday, and was impressed, and will drive a manual model tomorrow, although it will not be the 1LE equipped track version. For some reason, I am struggling to decide between these two cars which are really differently purposed. In either event, the car is just a for fun car, and will not be used for every day transportation and might see an occasional track day, but mostly road only.

I want one of those too. Which one is a convertible?

Tough call - I'd go with the ragtop. However, I forgot how much I missed driving a stick until I got the old Firehawk this year. That 6-speed manual is pretty fun.

I just looked at the 2017 maros and now I want one. I think I'm going to wait a year when I can get one for $35Kish. I'd love to daily a 450hp car during the summer.

I want one of those too. Which one is a convertible?

Tough call - I'd go with the ragtop. However, I forgot how much I missed driving a stick until I got the old Firehawk this year. That 6-speed manual is pretty fun.