Please advise-Fidelity Personal Retirement Annuity

filmguyinla

Dryer sheet wannabe
Upon recommendation of my Fidelity advisor I invested into FPRA last April after continuing to max out my SEP IRA each year. It seems "annuity" is an ugly word but was told this one was different for it has no surrender charge and annual fee is .25%. I keep feeling conflicted as if this was a good idea or not. Looking for independent advice on this. Beginner here so please reply as if you writing a "Investing for Dummies" chapter :). 51 yrs old. Thanks in advance.

Have you read the entire annuity contract? Nothing short of doing that will tell you what costs, fees, charges, commissions, and penalties you've agreed to.

No other charges

I have read it and got that reconfirmed from two other so called Fidelity Annuity experts on their 800 number and my advisor. I did ask exactly that multiple times. Are ALL annuities evil? Do most experienced investors avoid ALL of them at all costs?

An annuity will always be more expensive than an equivalent mutual fund. The underlying life insurance for all annuities must be founded by additional fees.

My question for you is.... What exactly is the .25% charge ?

Just a couple comments on annuities.

Higher fees than plain Jane mutual funds

Profits realized at normal (less favrable) income tax rates rather than (favorable) capital gains rates

Death benefit for your heirs not you. You have to die for anyone to collect guarantee on initial investment.

Collection of benefits subject to the financial strength of the insurer perhaps many years hence.

Last edited:
.25% is annual fee

They list this as it's Key Features:
Tax-deferred growth potential of investment
Low annual annuity costs
Any earnings not taxed until withdrawn
No surrender charge
The ability to invest as much as you want—no IRS contribution limits3
After the initial investment, you can make automatic monthly contributions.4