Replacing a broken, lockable file cabinet

Sojourner

Thinks s/he gets paid by the post
I've been using a very basic, lockable file cabinet for many years now to keep small valuables stored away and hidden when I travel. The cabinet is small (only two drawers) and cheap, definitely not meant to offer security approaching what even the cheapest home safe could provide, yet I've felt it was probably good enough to deter run-of-the mill "smash and grab" thieves. Luckily, my theory has never been put to test. :)

Now, however, after 25+ years, the lock on the cabinet has broken, and the whole thing has become essentially unusable (other than to store hanging file folders in a cumbersome manner). I'm thinking of ditching it and getting an actual home safe, and also scanning, digitizing, and discarding all the papers in the hanging file folders.

Would any bargain-basement home safe on Amazon be good enough for my use case? I'm not too concerned about fire or water, or about the safe's ability to resist a determined lockpicker. It just needs to be good enough to deter casual thieves/snoopers for long enough to frustrate them. Should I get the cheapest model that's big enough to store my valuables? Anything else I should be thinking about or looking for? Specific recommendations would be very much appreciated.

I have a general policy to resist buying junk tools with the concept of "tool" used broadly. So I would not go the cheap screw route, but that is just me. I would shop CraigsList via a stored query that notified me if something of interest showed up. I'd be looking for a small business document safe.