roth vs tsp

rdwarejr

Confused about dryer sheets
I am a young officer and I am currently contributing 20% to my tsp but I heard mixed opinions as to max out your tsp first then roth (and the opposite). I also currently have 5k in my roth from investing while in college. What are your opinions? Thanks!

... but I heard mixed opinions as to max out your tsp first then roth (and the opposite).
What are your opinions? Thanks!
Hoo-boy, let the [-]food-fight[/-] fun begin!

On a board of this [-]opinionated[/-] size, with a two-sided question involving a response from "n" posters, you'll get "n+5" opinions favoring at least three sides.

I previously expressed an opinion to OP on this subject, so I'll hold my comments to [-]avoid undue influence[/-] see if I've overlooked any of the finer points...

Most people suggest contributing to a TSP/401K up to the match if there is one. Then max your ROTH. Then contribute more towards the TSP up to the max if possible. If you have money left to invest go with a taxable account at Vanguard or similar company.

I put every cent possible into my TSP during my years of federal employment, and I don't regret it. There may be more efficient ways to invest, but I am pretty happy with the TSP.

In retirement, I am taking equal monthly withdrawals from it and it is a nice source of income.

The TSP will start offering a ROTH option, I believe in 2012. My understanding is that you can contribute up to the max in either plan or a combination of both. If I was young I would lean towards putting a higher percentage in the ROTH option.

Most people suggest contributing to a TSP/401K up to the match if there is one. Then max your ROTH. Then contribute more towards the TSP up to the max if possible. If you have money left to invest go with a taxable account at Vanguard or similar company.

X2