Suggestions for things to see between Tulsa and Boise

SecondCor521

Give me a museum and I'll fill it. (Picasso) Give me a forum ...
Hi all,

I'm going to be driving from Tulsa to Boise next week with my 20DS via Denver and Salt Lake City.

Are there any interesting things to see along the way? Is there a web tool that makes suggestions based on driving routes or cities? I know about Trip Advisor, and I could check that. A quick Google suggests RoadTripper; I'll check that out as well.

He's a college student majoring in ME. I'm a retired firmware engineer and engineering manager.

Thanks for any suggestions.

Rocky Mountain National Park and most anything in Colorado are on the way. Not too far off are Yellowstone and the Grand Tetons.

In normal times I would advocate for Yellowstone and the Tetons. Recently I heard from a friend Yellowstone is closed due to Covid. Maybe RNP is as well. Of course, maybe these parks are closed from snow pack and the closure is getting hyped by the virus...? Just suggesting you double check before making plans.

That's a long drive and Dr google sends you through Kansas, Ft Collins and then up to I80 across Wyoming,,,in normal times I80 is bumper to bumper truck traffic in that area. For us, it's our least favorite road to drive on. Long stretches between towns and not many chances to stretch legs or take a break.

I suspect you will see a lot of wheat fields, cattle feedlots and such. To me that's a put your down get it done type of drive.

Fort Collins might be a good place to stop for the night and check things out. Of course that depends if you can get through Denver before rush hour traffic which is a nightmare.

Are you planning for several days I know a couple spots in Northern Utah if you are taking a longer type drive approach?

Rocky Mountain National Park and most anything in Colorado are on the way. Not too far off are Yellowstone and the Grand Tetons.
RMNP is still closed.