Tax Software Recommendation

Born2Fish

Full time employment: Posting here.
I have been using free online software but things have gotten more complex now and I want to try a software that is easier to work with.

I sold some of my Roth conversion and triggered an early withdrawal penalty (I am 64 y/o but missed the 5-year date). I can't figure out how to clear things up using the FreeTaxOnline software.

It would be nice if I could load the files from Fidelity/TDA directly into the tax software. Mostly 1099-R forms but a lot of time to enter everything.

Any recommendations are welcome.

Would also appreciate help on figuring out the implications of the early withdrawal. Fidelity's 1099-R Box 7 showed a Distribution Code "T". Box 1 showed Gross distribution amount. All other boxes were blank.

I have been handling my own taxes for about 30 years.

I prefer HR Block download deluxe version. I usually enter everything manually but this year I imported all 1099R info directly from Fidelity. I took a pic of my W2 and sent it to some secure site and imported it from there.

One thing about either Turbo Tax or H&R Block is that there are plenty of people on this forum that can help you if needed. Not to mention all the folks that use those two programs beyond this forum.

I primarily use TT and have for years. Couple things - get a version the you load to your computer. Don’t worry about getting the Premier version. Deluxe will likely handle anything you may have and if you need to upgrade, you can still do it. Not sure about TD, but TT works well with Fidelity.

HRB for me this year. I have used TurboTax in the past. It was $34.99 for the Deluxe state edition (download) and included a $20 gift card for Panera Bread. That deal is gone now. The gift cards are only $10 now which does not buy much with inflation these days. I imported from TDA and Fidelity and also my 1099-R.