Are you looking forward to self driving cars?

harley

Give me a museum and I'll fill it. (Picasso) Give me a forum ...
There's an article in Wired about a car created by Delphi (the parts manufacturer) that just drove 99% of the way across the country autonomously, with human intervention only when they left the highways and drove in city traffic. This is Big: A Robo-Car Just Drove Across the Country.

I'm a big time driver, I love to drive, love to cruise, and am not exactly sure how I feel about the coming revolution in automobile travel. I can definitely recognize the potential life savings of removing idiots (like myself sometimes) from controlling multi-thousand pound death machines. Also, I suspect it would improve traffic situations. And there are definitely times when it would be better for me to be able to say "Home, James" and fall asleep until I'm delivered to my doorstep. But if it happens in my driving lifetime, I will miss the fun aspects of driving. I doubt it will actually change completely until I'm too old to be driving anywhere but Florida anyway. I'm just curious about how others feel about the change.

I'm looking forward to them. Too much time behind the wheel is challenging for me and we'd like to get out for longer road trips.

I think a self-driving car would be of major benefit for aging folks and also parents with babies & young children.

After almost getting T-boned today by someone who thought he could talk on his cell phone and drive at the same time, self-driving cars can't get here soon enough. If you want to talk on the phone, let the machine drive.

There are times when I wouldn't mind - a long driving trip for example. Or DW will often point out things in the landscape that I can't look at because I'm driving. On a winding twisty road though, I like driving.

I sure look forward to seeing all those other idiots out there being taken out of the equation though.:D