Homebrewing Thread

This is a great thread. I have been brewing off and on for the last fifteen years or so. But, until the last two batches have used a partial mash. I was always concerned about the cost, complexity, knowledge level required, and length of brew time to try all grain. I tried the brew in a bag method and was surprised by how simple the process was and how much better my beer tasted. My local home brew store had never heard of BIAB and was trying to steer me to brew in the "correct" method. He gave up on me and just measured my grain....

I don't know if I will ever try a traditional full grain brew, but sure do enjoy the brew in a bag method. For those of you that have tried both the full grain and BIAB methods, do you notice a difference in quality of beer?

I don't know if I will ever try a traditional full grain brew, but sure do enjoy the brew in a bag method. For those of you that have tried both the full grain and BIAB methods, do you notice a difference in quality of beer?

Like you, I was doing a bunch of mini-mashes. I got to the point that most of my brews required a small mash, and then you have to deal with the extract too, so after reading about BIAB and MIAB, I went 'all-grain' (I prefer to use the term 'full mash').

I do a variation of Brew-in-a-bag, I do Mash-in-a-bag. But going 'full-mash', my equipment is really minimal. My 'mash tun' consists of two 3.5G buckets. I use a 5 gallon Paint Strainer bag in each, and split my mash between the two. The two buckets just fit in an oven that I warmed and turned off, so the mash holds temp pretty well. Then I boil on the stove in two 5 gallon cheap pots. I heat the sparge water in those brew pots, and dunk the bags from the buckets in to the pots. Then add the mash water from the buckets, and start the boil. EZ.

By splitting the boil, it's easy to do on a stove top.