Ideas needed for part time income

Zoocat

Thinks s/he gets paid by the post
Hi all,
I thought I throw this out to cyberspace in hopes of getting some ideas for generating some more part-time income. I already have a free-lance job that generates about $8000 net. But I'd like to double that. The money will be dedicated to my travel habit. Here are the criteria that the work must meet:

1. Be flexible as far as schedule (so I can travel at a moment's notice)
2. Prefer to work at home not in an office or store, etc., so that I can control my work schedule.

My background is college English teaching but I don't want to do any more freelance writing, editing, or tutoring. :p

It's ok if the work and income is not steady. I can deal with inconsistency. But the payoff has to be worth the effort.

Selling on ebay is attractive to me but I don't know what I could sell that would have sufficient profit.

Any and all ideas welcome!!!

Easier to provide advice if you can define what you would rather do other than the skill sets you already have in teaching English. Otherwise I'd say you could write ad copy, grade papers, do test prep, that sort of stuff.

Selling on ebay appears to be pretty dreary work. Whatever junk you're able to foist off on some unsuspecting buyer needs to be purchased, stored, prepared for mailing, sent off--and then some of it will come back, disgruntled buyers, inventories, and all the admin--nasty.

Rather than specific advice, my recommendation is to pursue some activity that you'd already do now for nothing. You like woodworking? Maybe furniture repair, light carpentry, handyman type work. A reliable "part time husband" around here makes a mint, and if you already have the tools you're golden. Perhaps one of the sports you're into, or one of your hobbies.