Please help a student with a research project

jollyumbc

Dryer sheet wannabe
Greetings!

I am a graduate student in the Information Systems department of the University of Maryland, Baltimore County (UMBC). I am conducting a study on determining the near future technology needs of medication management for senior people and the practical implications of a change in technology understanding in the next generation of senior citizens.

As part of this study, I am eliciting participation in a university approved online survey. I would very much appreciate if you could help by taking the study yourself or forwarding this message to any others you think would be interested. The participation in this survey is totally voluntary.

The survey usually takes around 30 minutes to complete and is available at: http://www.surveymonkey.com/s.aspx?sm=al_2b8JYzTJEVmXzgzW9Ku_2bg_3d_3d

Thanks for your time and any assistance in this study you can provide will be very much appreciated!

Jocelyn Wu (Ph.D. Student)
Information Systems Department
University of Maryland, Baltimore County
jocelyn.wu@umbc.edu

You don't describe who you want to take the survey. Just seniors? All ages?

A suggestion:
While it's possible that this post is entirely legitimate, I think you'd get higher participation if the link led to a URL that was identifiable as being associated with an institution of higher learning. "Surveymonkey" doesn't inspire much confidence.

I'm not vouching for this particular survey, but Surveymonkey really is an online survey tool that's commonly used by social scientists. I'm not sure it's possible to make the link go through an institution.

Jocelyn, it might also help to describe the study in plainer language.:) I have a PhD myself, and I'm having a hard time understanding what you're looking at. How does understanding technology relate to medication? What kinds of information are you trying to collect? Whether people take medication? Whether they manage it online somehow?