Join Early Retirement Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Tv compatible with Chromecast-help?
Old 08-04-2014, 03:16 AM   #1
Full time employment: Posting here.
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 637
Tv compatible with Chromecast-help?

Can someone please tell me what I need to see on my TV to know if I have a TV that will work with Chromecast?
__________________

__________________
bizlady is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 Early Retirement and Financial Independence Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

Are you planning to be financially independent as early as possible so you can live life on your own terms? Discuss successful investing strategies, asset allocation models, tax strategies and other related topics in our online forum community. Our members range from young folks just starting their journey to financial independence, military retirees and even multimillionaires. No matter where you fit in you'll find that Early-Retirement.org is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with our members, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create a retirement blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 08-04-2014, 06:32 AM   #2
Give me a museum and I'll fill it. (Picasso) Give me a forum ...
REWahoo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Texas Hill Country
Posts: 42,075
All you need is an open HDMI input. Here's a link showing how you set it up: https://support.google.com/chromecas..._topic=3058948
__________________

__________________
Numbers is hard

When I hit 70, it hit back

Retired in 2005 at age 58, no pension
REWahoo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2014, 08:36 AM   #3
Recycles dryer sheets
jetpack's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 317
Note that you need computer(s) compatible with it as well. My main computer (modern desktop) was
NOT compatible because it didn't use wifi.
__________________
jetpack is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2014, 10:15 AM   #4
Give me a museum and I'll fill it. (Picasso)
Give me a forum ...
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Northern IL
Posts: 18,263
Quote:
Originally Posted by jetpack View Post
Note that you need computer(s) compatible with it as well. My main computer (modern desktop) was
NOT compatible because it didn't use wifi.
I don't think that's true.

From what I understand, yes, you will need a wireless router for the chromecast, but your desktop could be connected to a wired port on the router.

I'm pretty sure that the way all these various wireless boxes work (roku, printers, etc), is that they communicate back to the router. They don't communicate directly with your computer. Though you can make your computer a wireless 'hot spot', but that isn't a requirement if you have a wireless router.

Someone correct me if I'm wrong, I'm going on general knowledge here, never played with the chromecast itself.

-ERD50
__________________
ERD50 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2014, 10:45 AM   #5
Thinks s/he gets paid by the post
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 3,697
Quote:
Originally Posted by ERD50 View Post
I don't think that's true.

From what I understand, yes, you will need a wireless router for the chromecast, but your desktop could be connected to a wired port on the router.

I'm pretty sure that the way all these various wireless boxes work (roku, printers, etc), is that they communicate back to the router. They don't communicate directly with your computer. Though you can make your computer a wireless 'hot spot', but that isn't a requirement if you have a wireless router.

Someone correct me if I'm wrong, I'm going on general knowledge here, never played with the chromecast itself.

-ERD50
This is exactly correct. What happens is that Chromecast gets it's signal from the Wifi, controlled by the computer regardless of how the computer is connected. BUT..they have to be on the same router.
__________________
Living well is the best revenge!
Retired @ 52 in 2005
marko is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2014, 12:08 PM   #6
Thinks s/he gets paid by the post
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 3,862
My Chromecast works fine with my wired desktop. They are both connected to my local area network. You only need an HDMI port on the TV and a wireless network for it to use. I believe setup requires an ad hoc wireless network between a laptop or smart phone in order to connect the Chromecast hardware to your local wireless network. So a desktop-only house might pose a problem, even with a wireless router. However, it's a one time thing. You could get a friend to set it up for you.
__________________
Animorph is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2014, 01:08 PM   #7
Recycles dryer sheets
jetpack's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 317
Maybe it was just with an earlier version of the chrome OS, but I even went through google support and they assured me it doesn't work with a "wired only" desktop. I am not a novice with networking, so it really frustrated me. It can definitely NOT be set up without a wifi device, as there is no way to configure local wifi with a cable.
__________________
jetpack is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2014, 01:34 PM   #8
Give me a museum and I'll fill it. (Picasso)
Give me a forum ...
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Northern IL
Posts: 18,263
Quote:
Originally Posted by jetpack View Post
Maybe it was just with an earlier version of the chrome OS, but I even went through google support and they assured me it doesn't work with a "wired only" desktop. I am not a novice with networking, so it really frustrated me. It can definitely NOT be set up without a wifi device, as there is no way to configure local wifi with a cable.
I'm guessing there was a (human-human) communication gap, because that just doesn't make sense.

The Chromecast device itself definitely needs a wi-fi connection, it does ot have a wired port. The computer just has to be on the same network as the wi-fi.

Perhaps google support was trying to get you connected without a wireless router, and that would mean using your desktop as the 'hot-spot'? But w/o wireless in the desktop, that would be a no-go.

But if you have wi-fi, it should work with your wired desktop on the same network (but on a wired port of that network).

-ERD50
__________________

__________________
ERD50 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
chromecast


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Apple TV vs Roku 1/2/3 vs Chromecast vs others? Midpack Other topics 65 05-12-2014 06:45 PM
definition of HSA compatible plan FinanceGeek Health and Early Retirement 7 10-03-2013 10:38 AM
How to find spouse who is compatible financially? Boglehead213 Young Dreamers 39 05-05-2012 04:55 PM
Are you and SO really compatible? mickeyd Other topics 6 02-19-2007 08:31 AM

 

 
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:09 PM.
 
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.