Am I correct about Social Security Estimates?

retire2020

Recycles dryer sheets
I've been trying to understand SS system and would like you to verify if I understood it correctly and if my assumptions below are correct. I can then plug in correct info. in FireCalc to run my scenario.

I've been working since 1984 and SS estimates at age 70 will be around 30K

DW has worked for 15 years but at a lower wage(50K) and stopped working nine years ago. No plan for her to work in future. She is estimated to receive about 9K of her SS benefits starting at age 62. She's 5.5 years younger to me.

* Can she collect her SS starting at age 62(about 9K) and then switch to 50% of mine(15K..larger than her own) when I start collecting at age 70? or she has to wait until I turn 70 when she'll be 65?

* I'm assuming our combined SS Benefits at my age 70 will be 45K, correct?

* Then if I die before her, she will continue to receive 100% of my benefits(30K), correct?

Last edited:
From a recent WSJ article:

With Social Security retirement benefits, the decision to start collecting before full retirement age brings a permanent reduction in the benefit a person receives versus if he or she had waited to begin. That includes cases in which someone starts out with a benefit based only on his or her own work record and later becomes eligible for a spousal benefit as well. If you have earned a lot more than your wife over the years, her switch from her earned benefit to a spousal benefit might bring an increase in her Social Security checks. But the amount would be smaller than if she waited until her full retirement age to collect at all.

As an example, consider a wife born between 1943 and 1954 who doesn't qualify for a benefit based on her work history. At her full retirement age of 66, her spousal benefit would be half of her husband's benefit at his full retirement age. If she starts to collect at her age 62, her spousal benefit would be 35% of his full benefit.