Rhode Island Public Pension System Reform

Status
Not open for further replies.
Are there any public employees out there going to give me a hand with this? I'll admit I get a decent pension but it is not way over the top like some of you might suggest

Ripper1. I certainly can't retire after 20 years for anywhere near $44,000 a year. It would be more like 20,000. Keep in mind that includes some of my own money since I have been paying 6% of my earnings into the pension for 20 Years.
That's a lot of my money and its earnings. It's not all taxpayer money. Also I would like to know if the individual involved bought retirement credits to enhance his pension. They work like an annuity. Give the government a big pile of cash and collect a few hundred dollars more a month. Live long enough and it is a good deal. Die to early and your heirs will not be happy with your decision. :)

Yes, I would get SS but why not? I have paid into it like everybody else. Surely, I am not to be denied SS because I worked 1/2 my life for a public institution?!?!?!?!?

Last edited:
FUEGO said:
Seriously? $11k a year for a 9 month position works out to about a quarter an hour more than minimum wage. If that is a 10 month position they are making less than the federal min wage. That stat is a little shocking.

Our TA's locally get over $11/hr with zero experience, increasing to $13/$15 for mid career and 30 yr veterans, respectively. After checking, our assistant lunch ladies are the least paid school staff at over $10/hr (and they get benefits).

This is in a non-unionized area that isn't particularly high cost of living.