Opinions needed on Park Model Homes in Mesa?

Orchidflower

Thinks s/he gets paid by the post
Spoke to an old friend today who is really encouraging me to look into park model homes that, from my understanding, are really popular in Mesa/Phoenix. I didn't know what she was talking about, but here is a photo:

Park Model Homes From $17,500 - The Finest Quality Park Model Homes And Park Model Cabins And Park Models At The Best Prices

***My question here is has anyone on this board ever lived in one or checked them out? They look so much easier to break into (hellooo, Mr. Burglar) than a regular home, but I could be wrong as I have no empirical knowledge of these home types at all.

She's saying that most are 55+ active adult communities and most have great activities if that's your thing. She had no clue about tax benefits being similar as you would get from living in, say, a Del Webb/Pulte Sun City community; but, I have no clue about it personally. I do like the idea of getting a $400-500 taken off my yearly taxes if I choose a Sun City location.

I gather this park model style is really popular in the Mesa/Phoenix area, and, since my friend plans to move there, she seems to think this would work for me, also. I have no clue about these homes, so I'm ask'n here.:blush: I told her I'd dig into it and give her a clue, also.

Plus, I haven't even visited the Phoenix area ever, so I am really clueless about the lifestyle out there--except what I'm learning from that new show "Sunset Daze." Not so sure that's a good thing either.

From what I have gathered, I think the Kaderlis' live in one of these park model home communities, and they seem to like it.

I would be pretty worried about crime rates in those sorts of areas, and would thoroughly investigate it.

I expressed concern over the crime rate in Mesa to her. Not sure if I got thru to her on that or not.