Creative ways to pump up the compensation?

MooreBonds

Thinks s/he gets paid by the post
Somewhat related to the active thread about taking a job for less....

I'm an engineer, mid 30s. Was approached by a former colleague (previously worked at my current employer with me, and also knew him in the industry a few years prior). Long story short, after having lunch 2 weeks ago, and then a formal interview (today), he hinted at what the salary range would be for my position with their company (62k-68k), and that he guessed what he would peg me at (65k).

After he said that, my fears were realized, as I had to tell him that my current salary is 85k, and on top of that was just given a 4% raise (effective 4/1) last week.

He paused for a second, then started to hem and haw, and mentioned something about changing my position title (to involve some supervision of another person, which presumably would involve a higher salary), and also threw out a reference to possibly going hourly.

Benefits are fairly 'standard': company pays for portion of health insurance, has a 4% 401k match, 2 weeks vacation.

My question to all of you is: apart from the obvious things like more vacation time (which would only be able to make up so much ground), are there any 'creative' things you were able to strike a deal with an employer to make up for some compensation ground?

If I were still working for my father, it would be easier to do some unsual things like a company car, company-paid gas, etc....but this is not a relative, and it's a slightly larger organization (150 people, several offices), so I'll be limited to relatively 'conventional' ideas.