Need advice: Trip to Australia..... or finish school?

lil_p

Confused about dryer sheets
Hello everyone! This is my first post and I thought who better to ask than the gang here.
I have a little bit of a dilemma. I’m 25 years old, went back to school after working for a little bit. I have a business diploma but am working on my accounting diploma and degree.

A little bit of background on why I am here is that the reason I want to retire early is that I don’t like being told what to do and when to do it. I want to have some freedom to come and go as I please and I really want to see more of this world. I’ve been working since I was 16 and the thought of working till I am 65 makes me nauseous.

I feel like I am at a unique point right now to take off on an extended vacation. I will have completed my diploma in April 2007, and can take either a semester or year off school before returning to finish my degree. I feel that once I start working a “real” job, it’s going to be hard to go away for 2 weeks to a month to go on vacation. If I take a break between jobs (if that happens) then it’s a matter of explaining why there is a gap etc. I’m also single so no one here except my family and friends that I would miss.

One part of me says to just get school done ASAP because I’m not getting any younger, and another part of me says that life should be enjoyed a little along the way.

As a Canadian citizen, we have a reciprocal agreement with Australia allowing us to apply for a working holiday visa. Basically the skinny on it is that I can live and work in Australia (not working longer than 6 months with one employer) for 1 year. The restriction is that you must be between 18 and 30 years of age, which is a non-issue as I’m 25. You can only get this visa once, you can get a second one but there are some other restrictions on it and I think you have to do some seasonal farm work to get it (not so appealing).