Join Early Retirement Today

Push-Up Breathing Question
Old 08-21-2016, 09:45 PM   #1
Recycles dryer sheets

Push-Up Breathing Question

I am not that experienced with exercising and would like to start doing some body weight exercise, such as push ups.

Last year when my friends were needling me about how many push ups I could do I showed them and one said that if I kept holding my breath while doing them I would blow a gasket.

I assume that I should be breathing in on one phase of the push up and breathing out on the other, but does it make a difference which way I do it? That is, should I be breathing in during the harder "up" phase and exhaling during the easier "down" phase?

I guess that brings another question to mind. If I consider the "down" phase to be easier, does that mean I am not controlling my push up enough and should be going slower and supporting my body weight more during the "down" phase?

As you can see, I am pretty clueless on exercise technique.

Thanks.

Join the #1 Early Retirement and Financial Independence Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

Are you planning to be financially independent as early as possible so you can live life on your own terms? Discuss successful investing strategies, asset allocation models, tax strategies and other related topics in our online forum community. Our members range from young folks just starting their journey to financial independence, military retirees and even multimillionaires. No matter where you fit in you'll find that Early-Retirement.org is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with our members, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create a retirement blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 08-21-2016, 09:59 PM   #2