403(b) choices?

elise_hoffman

Confused about dryer sheets
Hi everyone! I'm new to this forum. I found my way here reading a few threads abuot 403(b) plans. I'm a teacher (7th year in the classroom) but new to the public school system, so I'll be starting my 403(b) plan this year. My district offers three choices:

-VALIC
-Lincoln Financial
-ING

Does anyone have any insight into if one of these companies is better or preferable than the others? I have contacted the companies directly to get more information into what they offer, but I know it's a lot to expect a salesperson to make an unbiased comparison to other programs, so I thought I'd ask here!

According to the comparison chart provided by my school district, each charges between .27%-.50% of assets plus "underlying fund charges" that are not specified. This doesn't seem like a huge difference to me, which is why I'm struggling to choose.

A little background on me if it's helpful: I'm 30, single-income, and I hope to buy a house in the next year so I will be making very conservative contributions to whichever fund I end up choosing.

Thank you for your help and insight!

We probably need a bit more information. VALIC, Lincoln Financial, ING appear to be companies - but what products do they offer? It's kind of like saying 'Should I buy this Ford, or this Chevy or this Honda, w/o knowing what vehicles were being offered, or what your needs are.

Unfortunately, these are probably companies that only offer annuities, which are probably not the best match. It seems to be rare for 403B plans to include any low cost providers, like Vanguard or Fidelity. And if they do, they are buried and marginalized.

I'd love to know why this is the case. Somebody must be getting a kick-back somewhere, or they simply buy the annuity sales pitch. But shouldn't teachers be the ones most likely to educate themselves on these matters (being educators themselves)? Shouldn't the Union be looking out for them?