How to answer all the naysayers?

HuskerChica

Confused about dryer sheets
I have just started my ER journey at age 50. I'm wondering how you have handled the complete lack of understanding-from everyone! My sisters, my friends, old co-workers, neighbors, no one can really comprehend that I don't need to work. Do I say I'm semi-retired? Do I say I'm a day trader? Any tips for how to navigate the waters would be appreciated!!!

Lots of threads on this very question. I have fielded this for several years and depending on the audience, my answer will vary. For close friends/relatives...they got the honest answer. I am retired. Done and Done.

For former associates/acquaintances, I am either involved in some investment activities (as a limited partner) or do consulting w*rk. I am pretty vague in those answers since it's really none of their business. They rarely push for more info, but if they do I just say that I am under an NDA and can't really discuss the particulars.

Others will certainly chime in.

Why do you care what anyone thinks? Why do you have to make excuses? Don't tell them anything. Just do it and live your life as normal. Not much in your relationships with them will change. You may just see them a little more.

My family didn’t give us any grief, and we were as low profile about it as possible with everyone else,

Yeah, tell them the truth. I saved and invested and if you look back on what the market has done in the last 30 years...

Answer honestly "I'm retired" Simple, honest, straight up.
To all the grief given, either ignore or a simple "I lived below my means and saved like crazy so I could retire early".
That will make their eyes glaze over, they don't want to hear that you worked hard and saved and went without new things all the time.