Lost in space - danger will robinson

rollingstone

Confused about dryer sheets
I don't think I am really saying anything new here. What I am rambling on about are the same issues I have read about a lot in these threads.

I'm lost, just to be to the point, I am L O S T. I am almost 53. I work in the oil industry. I have everything paid off and am now just saving for me. Oh and by the way, I don't get free gas. I have to pay as much as anybody else. I think I could retire. I "run the numbers" and sometimes it looks good and sometimes I just get in the "fear" mode that I hear a lot of people mention in these threads and I think maybe not.

I am a workaholic. It use to be alcoholic a long time ago, but somehow I managed to quit that stuff. But now I work a lot. And yes, I confess, I am scared. I want to retire, but I am scared, because I DON'T KNOW WHAT TO DO. There are plenty of things I can do, I just don't know what I am passionate about, because I just work work work and now I am LOST, LOST, LOST.

Are there people out there that felt lost before they retired and then just got comfortable with it? I am not one of those people that had some big dream career, getting out of college. I just ended up where I am because it paid well and for the most part I have learned a lot and I like it. But after several years and too many hours, I would like to do something else... I want to travel, work on my house, hang out with the family, maybe volunteer a bit...maybe work just part time. I guess I am afraid of doing irreversable damage and I will never be able to go back to the security of work. Does this make sense? I can see where the oil industry is going in this country. Everything is getting old, all of my buddies are retiring and I don't want to be around when we start having more fires and upsets only to be surrounded with inexperienced people. Thanks for letting me ramble on.

So have you run your numbers through FIRECalc: A different kind of retirement calculator?