Microsoft Office Versions

Pellice

Thinks s/he gets paid by the post
I've had a reasonably full version of Office available since I left my job in 2018 - I had some sort of desktop version installed then, and it transferred to my new computer since then. But I've lately been getting notes that all my Office programs will be deactivated on May 12. I've tried signing in again, but apparently MS really wants me to buy the programs, even though I've been using them occasionally without any incidents since 2018.

I tried the free version, but it seems to be only available online, like Google apps. Is that the case?

I use Word and Excel primarily when I open documents sent to me, as I prefer other programs for those functions. But I DO use OneNote all the time. I have a daily diary on it which I do NOT want to lose. OneNote is on the free online version, but I want it on my desktop.

You can supposedly download OneNote as a free standalone desktop application, and I did click on the download, which was labeled as "Officesetup.exe" even though I clicked on the OneNote download only. It said that it was installed, but I see no evidence of it, no icons on the desktop, doesn't appear in my Windows list, doesn't appear in File Manager. And when I open my desktop OneNote, it gives me the same old countdown warning.

I don't want to pay Microsoft for programs that are supposed to be free, particularly when I resent that they were forced on us orignally, back in the old days, and particularly since this is a subscription. Ugh. But I will pay for OneNote if I have to.

Sorry this is a jumble, I don't know why Microsoft makes it so confusing.

I am still using Office 2010 with no notice of it being deactivated (although they don't maintain it anymore)

Really - the free versions are View only:confused: That wasn't really clear. That would weight towards buying.