Newly Retired - 4 month update

mountainsoft

Thinks s/he gets paid by the post
My wife's last day of work was April 28, 2023. While I am technically still self employed, I haven't done any real work since then other than answering a few emails and taking care of some finances. Despite that, I still have a few hundred dollars trickle in each month, which helps provide a little play money for dinners or activities.

Today marks 4 months since we retired, and so far it has gone very well. With no alarm to jolt us out of bed each day, we go to bed whenever we want (usually 9:30pm) and get up whenever we want (usually 7am). I have been working from home for several years, so I already have a basic morning routine that really hasn't changed much now that we're retired. My wife is still struggling a bit to try and develop a daily routine. Our afternoons are generally open to take care of errands or do whatever we want.

I think our biggest surprise has been how busy we are. It seems we need to do something almost every day, whether that's grocery shopping, tending to our mother's, helping family, or doing projects around the house. We often say to each other "how did we ever have time to work". :) I'm hoping things will settle down a big once the weather turns cold and wet again. I have a long back log of photos to label, home videos to edit, and other miscellaneous projects.