Southerners losing their accent

Grizz

Recycles dryer sheets
In past generations you'd need to change locales in order to lose your accent. According to this article, The Southern Accent: We're Losing It just by watching TV, the Southern U.S. is slowly losing its unique accent. If it is true, it's a shame. Although I'm sure it will take several generations to happen, becoming a "vanilla" world is now plausible with satellite TV in nearly every home.

the Southern U.S. is slowly losing its unique accent.
I'm not sure how those of us outside the South would be able to tell whether you-all are losing your accents...

I complimented a guy's Southern speech the other day and was haughtily corrected that he was from south Texas. After that riposte I was too deep in the hole to continue the conversation.

Yes, there have been some disadvantages to the mass media and perhaps this is one of them. I'm very proud of my southern Alabama accent and will take it to the grave. As a teacher, I constantly encourage and compliment my kids southern drawl.

It still seems to be alive and well in my area of the south!

I don't think TV is the reason. It is more due to people moving around and assimilating.

Cable TV has been around for what 30 or 40 years. I will promise you if you go into Tennessee, Kentucky, Georgia (not Atlanta --- nobody in Atlanta is from there), Sout Carolina, Mississippi, etc... and the variations on the Southern accent is alive and well.

Anecdotally speaking, it seems to me every new generation loses more of their local accent, not just Southerners. My grandparents have very thick Southern accents, my parents have Southern accents, but not a hard drawl. My cousins and siblings have very mild Southern accents. I guess my children won't have one at all. That's sort of disappointing in a way.