Television (or perhaps radio) news?

SunnyOne

Recycles dryer sheets
Since retiring a few months ago, I find myself doing something I've never done before....puttering around some mornings getting caught up on long overlooked items...
While puttering, I like to listen to news in the background, I have been listening via television rather than radio.

What passes for news is not the definition of news that I remember. Maybe it's a sign of aging, but the major channels might read off the headlines, then quickly switch to celebrity updates, social commentary/social justice commentary or break up into smaller segments to push the sale of consumer items.

I don't necessarily have a problem with any of the above, but when I want to learn what is currently happening in the US and abroad today, these are not newsworthy.

Do you have a recommendation for a television or radio channel that I can listen to for a discussion of current events (not opinions, only facts) in the mornings? So far, all I have found is Bloomberg Business News....not bad unto itself, but I would like to hear about other than business news as well. thanks

I listen to news on the radio - find your local NPR station and give it a try. My favorite (and local) one is WHYY out of Philadelphia, so there's some local news but it's mostly national, with a lot of in-depth stories. You can listen to it online here: https://whyy.org/radio-schedule/

Local public radio station (WAMU) here has the BBC Newshour from 9-10 every morning, which gives a different perspective on international news. If you have a smart speaker, you should be able to listen to WAMU if your local station doesn't cover it, or find it some other way as well.

<mod note> Please avoid the “left-right” descriptions that have led to other similar discussions ending prematurely. Why you don’t watch specific tv news stations is not the thread question. OP is asking for suggestions.