Thoughts on the transition from full-time to part-time?

ER Eddie

Thinks s/he gets paid by the post
I plan to downshift to part-time Sept. of this year. I've worked full-time for about 20 years at my current job. I'm in a financial position where I wouldn't have to work if I didn't want to (I'm FI), but I want to work. I wouldn't feel right at my age (early 50's) not doing some work. I'm in a field I enjoy and find stimulating/challenging. I'm downshifting primarily to reduce stress and to give myself more time to play.

I've let my boss and colleagues know, so the word is out. I've talked to HR about the process (e.g., changes in benefits). Talking to people about it has helped to make it feel more real, less like an abstract plan in my head.

I plan to work 20 hours. I think the major thing for me to watch out for is saying "yes" to requests to work more. They will come, I'm sure, but I don't want to get much above 20 hrs/week.

I've been doing the job I'm in for about 10 years and would like to try something new. So eventually, I'll start looking for part-time work elsewhere. But for now, this seemed like a good way to stepdown gradually. Continuing to work here will make getting a job elsewhere easier, when the time comes.

Any thoughts? Anyone with experience downshifting to part-time after working full-time? What was your experience like? Anything to watch out for?

Last edited:
Welcome to the forum!

It sounds like a good plan, based on the fact that you enjoy the work. That is the beautiful thing about being FI--you now have the freedom to keep working, go down to part-time, or retire all together.