Why Upgrade Razors?

Midpack

Give me a museum and I'll fill it. (Picasso) Give me a forum ...
I just ran out of blades for my Gillette Mach 3 razor, and before ordering I stopped to look at the history - I've been using the Mach 3 for 24 years! Gillette and others have introduced several new models since, but they're all more expensive (blades) and I doubt they actually shave any better (is 5 blades really better than 3?), so I ordered another 20 replacement blades. I usually welcome change, but not in all things I guess... :blush:

I am sure there will be some here who have been using the double edge safety razor blades all along - they were introduced in 1880! That is what my Dad bought me to [-]cut[/-] nick my face with as a young teen... :LOL:

I just ran out of blades for my Gillette Mach 3 razor, and before ordering I stopped to look at the history - I've been using the Mach 3 for 24 years! Gillette and others have introduced several new models since, but they're all more expensive (blades) and I doubt they actually shave any better (is 5 blades really better than 3?), so I ordered another 20 replacement blades. I usually welcome change, but not in all things I guess... :blush:

I am sure there will be some here who have been using the double edge safety razor since double edged blades, they were introduced in 1880! That is what my Dad bought me to [-]cut[/-] nick my face with as a young teen... :LOL:

All I can say to this is, my five blades work just fine. :LOL:

I use the 5-blade Fusion but fully realize that it is mainly gimmick. I have no real need for an ultra close shave anymore and a single blade lasts months. Usually only shave 2-3 times a week. Get blades when on sale at Costco but has been quite awhile.