Best Flash Drive or Alternatives?

bright eyed

Thinks s/he gets paid by the post
Hi,
I've been using a 4gb flash drive (s*ny micr*vault) for the past 6 months or so.

It was great because I move between my desktop and laptop and travel a lot so I can just plug in and work wherever I am.

However, it was not that sturdy, got bent and tweaked and now just died...:rant:

The stick design is sensible since it has to slide in between all those other usb devices, but also part of the problem on a laptop where it got bent if it was set down incorrectly. And the plastic casing was just weak anyway.

I did back it up a couple of weeks ago, but still have a minor gap in my files which does slow me down.

What should I do? Get a new one - any brand/style rec's or are they all the same?

Or is there a better way to keep track of my files?

:duh:

Why not just insert the flash drive for a moment at the beginning or end of your laptop session, to download or upload the necessary files? If you don't leave it inserted in the laptop for the whole session, it won't get bent while in use.

Normally I keep my flashdrive in the change purse portion of my wallet. I have had it for several years, and haven't had any problems despite dropping on the floor of the lunchroom at work several times while fishing for change. I am the opposite of "careful" with it. Frank keeps his on his keyring.

Edited to add: Yeah, and get the one CFB recommended. That looks really rugged! :)

You could also get a short USB ext cable like this:

Startech Fully Rated USB 2.0 Extension Cable - 1 x Type A USB - 1 x Type A USB - 6'' - Gray - USBEXTAA6IN - Buy.com
202191824.jpg

You can get longer ones, but a 6" one would be easy to carry and would serve the purpose to lessen the strain on the port and/or the drive.