Rehash - DSL?

cj

Full time employment: Posting here.
Hey everyone - I did a search for "DSL" and most of the conversations were from a year or more ago, so can I ask again?  Up until recently, I could only get dial-up internet where I live, but now DSL is available, so I'm thinking that it's time to upgrade.  Especially since I'll soon have to do all of my surfing from home. ;)  It's $17.95 per month, with the first month free.  $19.95 initial setup.  This is about what I'm currently paying for dialup.

So - if you have DSL, how hard is it to set up?  I'm really bummed that I'll have to change my email address I've been using for almost 10 years.  Other than that, how hard is it?  I have basic virus protection already, but will I have to upgrade that?

Any words of wisdom?  I'm not too tech-savvy. 

Thanks!
CJ

DSL Good. (Trying to sound like Homer Simpson) and its easy enought to set up that Homer could do it. Maybe a change in email address, just do it.

We have DSL, but I don't know much about it. It's my roommate's computer, and he handles the internet. All I know is that it's about $50 per month. I've seen commercials for cheaper DSL services, but it turns out that DSL comes in different speeds, and the cheaper ones are going to be slower.

I'm sure it's still gotta be light-years faster than dial up, though! As for email, I've never had anything other than a hotmail or yahoo account, so I've never had to worry about changing an email addy.

Speed - yeah, on dial-up it's 50K or so, and DSL (the slower one) is 768K.  I've been managing with dial-up, so I think I'll be fine!

CJ